The Non New Year’s Resolution: One word. One year.

I have never been the kind of person who makes new year’s resolutions, simply because I am the kind of person who likes to be realistic about everyday life. The truth be told, I am fallible and my feelings fickle, which then points to the obvious; I am bound to make a resolution, break a resolution and then feel super crap about myself. Now I, quite frankly, am not up for feeling failure over a broken new year’s resolution.

With that said, I question myself: “How then will you ensure that you continually pursue growth and change? How will you measure your year?” I don’t think I quite worked out an answer to those questions, but something popped up recently. This is not a new concept but for some reason it intrigued me: The one word a year concept.

I have noticed some people picking one word for the entire year and live out of the principle or whatever, linked to that one word.

My first question: How do people pick ONE word?
My second question: How well does this really work?

So, in light of my curiosity, I thought I’d do this little experiement. I thus went about trying to find a word for myself for 2014. This was a little harder than anticipated but none the less after going through many words, one seemingly random word popped out at me and I simply thought I’ll just see how it goes.

The word: Delight.

According to Free online dictionary:
Noun: Great Pleasure or Joy
Synonyms: Happiness, Joyfulness, Glee, Gladness, Gratification, Relish, Excitement
Verb: please (someone) greatly.
Synonyms: Charm, Enchant, Captivate, Entrance, Thrill, Excite, Take someone’s breath away

Could this be a real word to live by? Could delight underline the activities and heart attitude of my everyday? What value does delight add?

Im all about asking questions, clearly.

Warning: Side track ahead.

Ps. 18:19
“He also brought me out into a broad place; He delivered me because He delighted in me.”
Wait, God delivered me, because He delighted to do so?
Hold up.
I know that we are intended to (Psalm 37:4Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart.)
and that (Psalm 16:11You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.)
Being delighted in God makes sense, but the mere thought that God the Creator, would be delighted by fallible creation – me – is such a bizarre thought!
 
Side track end.

Needless to say, my curiosity got the better of me.
So for the rest of this year, underlining everything, my word for 2014 will be “delight”. It is something unexpected, challenging enough but not unreachable while adding a positive yet mysterious glow to life. I hope.

I will seek to live with delight in my heart, in my relationship to Christ and to people, delight in His kingdom and pursuing a life that would be utterly delightful to Him.

Im not sure where Im going with this, but I am willing to find out.

May 2014 be a delightful year!

Leave a Reply

