Friday Favourite: Scriptural Challenge

This week’s Friday Favourite is a brief look at a scripture that stood out for me within the last couple days.

Colossians 2:20 -23
20 Therefore,[e] if you died with Christ from the basic principles of the world, why, as though living in the world, do you subject yourselves to regulations— 21 “Do not touch, do not taste, do not handle,” 22 which all concern things which perish with the using—according to the commandments and doctrines of men? 23 These things indeed have an appearance of wisdom in self-imposed religion, false humility, and neglect of the body, but are of no value against the indulgence of the flesh.

When I read this, it was one of those “wow God, really?” moments. It felt like He was talking directly to me. I’ve been a Christian for some odd years now, yet somehow I have discovered that I find it hard to understand the concept of grace. Well, no. Actually, I understand, but more truthfully, I find it challenging to accept and to live as such.

My understanding of faith many times, unfortunately, tends to lean towards being religious, I’ll confess. I beat myself up about how I should be doing certain things, or should not be doing others things. I judge my time spent and my thoughts and ultimately I just become so hard on myself. How ridiculous actually. Ridiculous because quite frankly, not even God – the Creator of the friggin’ universe – is THAT hard on me.

It’s also a little ridiculous because the revelation of Christ and the understanding I have found in my own personal experience, is the encounter with a real, loving and mercy-filled Saviour. I was in a dark place, and Christ became my Saviour, my Light. He told me that He made me new, that there was no longer condemnation if I lived my life in Him:

Romans 8:1-2
8 There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus,[a] who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. 2 For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death.

I guess that’s why the Colossians scripture stood out for me. I feel like I was being corrected. A gentle reprimand, if you will. As if God was saying, “Toni, why are you so hard on yourself?” and, “you do realise you need to get real right? As in, you need a better understanding of MY Word”.

Yes, God speaks.

The words shouted at me, almost.
“why”
“appearance of wisdom”
“self-imposed religion”
“false humility”
…it all told me that I had things twisted.

How interesting to consider though that this isn’t only my story? How many times have I and many others simply misunderstood?

This challenging passage is my Friday Favourite because of the impact it had on my heart. Also while that is the end of chapter 2, Chapter 3 says the following:

3 If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. 2 Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. 3 For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. 4 When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.

When I look at verse four, I clearly feel like I almost missed out on something much bigger. This Christian walk is not about legalism or philosophy, but about the daily revelation of Jesus Christ active in our daily lives. His love is transforming. When He becomes our life, we begin to share in His glory.

I am learning.

Happy Friday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

