A very dark season and the book of Ephesians

I cannot fully express the mind-blowing propensity the book of Ephesians has had on me recently. I have read the book of Ephesians before, sure. However, my previous reading of it could be described as a quick gobble down of a R10 cheeseburger on the run.  This time however has been different. This time I have slowly and intentionally been savouring each bite… and wow, what a difference it has made.
Coming out of a very dark period in my life, Ephesians has brought me such conviction and revelation, as well as hope and confidence. Through meditating on its content, I find that I just cannot remain the same!

Here’s just a small taster:

17 that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him, 18 the eyes of your understanding[c] being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints, – Ephesians 1:17-18

Bam!!

Wait… I need to add verses 19 – 21:

19 and what is the exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power 20 which He worked in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places, 21 far above all principality and power and might and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this age but also in that which is to come.
(Emphasis added by mehee… Clearly I’m loving it – I almost highlighted the whole thing!)

HAAA!! I feel like I need to say so much about this that I just don’t know where to begin!

*breathes*
Ok.

Firstly, the context. Not too long ago, for quite some months as I’ve briefly mentioned, I had gone through one of the most challenging and darkest times of my life. I have no need to get into the details, except that it tested every level of my being and hurt like hell. My closest relationships were being scrutinised and I was on the brink of breakdown. I felt like I had nothing and no one. I felt lost and my faith was being drained steadily. I remember the floor. I remember because of the many times all I could do was cry, face down.

With that said, in the same breath, I would like to add that though it has been hard (REALLY stinking hard), God sovereign above all, knew every level of my testing. He understood, and He met with me, He reached out to me and lifted me from the dark place I found myself in. I don’t mean this in the “I’m too blessed to be stressed” kind of way, but there is no other way to understand it, no other way that compares to the strength and grace God has lavished on me, in a very real way. I was comforted with a heavenly peace and grace, like only He can give.

My journey is by no means over but I thought I’d share a bit of my journey and my latest encounter with the book of Ephesians. It’s a journey in progress, so for now, this is just the introduction and we’ll see how it goes.

The follow-up posts will be:
1) A poem – “State of my soul” – painting a picture of what my soul felt like, and how God saved me.
2) A further look at Ephesians – “Dancing with darkness vs. Marriage with the Light”

Lets journey on.

3 thoughts on “A very dark season and the book of Ephesians

  1. I love the book of Ephesians too! I have been doing a study of it verse by verse on my blog. It is truly amazing how rich the Word of God is when we slow down and read a few verses at a time and try to meditate on them and apply them to our lives. Be blessed and bless someone else today!

  2. Pingback: “Whoa okay.. How about showing some grace… and love?” | Learning to Love

Leave a Reply

