Today’s Friday Favourite: Creamy Chicken Bacon Pasta and The Family around the dinner table

I live in a house with my aunt, uncle, their 3 kids (aged: 3, 9 &13 years old) and my seventeen year old sister. This can sometimes feel like a lot of mouths to feed. Ok, let me be honest and say that, unfortunately, I don’t cook. I swear I can, but… I don’t. (Hides face). I imagine the feeling though. We have this weird set up where my aunt’s mom fixes our supper during the week and weekends it’s kinda my aunt making something or everyone for themselves. Whatever, we make it work.  

Needless to say, any meal around our dinner table is one of my favourite times at home. With that many phases of life in the same space, some of the best, funniest and most interesting conversations occur. Usually there is abundance of laughter. I honestly believe that eating together (and I don’t mean in front of a television) as a family build’s the community life of the family.

That aside, a few days ago my aunt made the most delicious pasta in the whole wide world and when I thought “Friday Favourite?”, this was the first idea which popped in mind. I therefore kindly googled “easy chicken bacon pasta” and thought I’d stick it here for anyone wanting to try. My pleasure. 🙂

Creamy chicken, bacon and basil pasta

Ingredients

Preparation method

  1. Cook the pasta according to packet instructions in a pan of salted boiling water, then drain.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a frying pan, add the chicken strips and bacon and cook for 3-4 minutes, or until the chicken is golden-brown and cooked through.
  3. Add the garlic and cook for one minute. Season, to taste, with salt and freshly ground black pepper, add the cream and warm through.
  4. Add the creamy sauce to the cooked, drained pasta and stir well.
  5. To serve, stir in the basil and cheddar spoon onto serving plates. Garnish with extra grated cheese and basil leaves.

 creamychickenbaconan_87166_16x9

Looks easy and delicious enough doesn’t it?

 

Original source for recipe and picture:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/creamychickenbaconan_87166

2 thoughts on “Today’s Friday Favourite: Creamy Chicken Bacon Pasta and The Family around the dinner table

Leave a Reply

